Published On: Wed, Oct 5th, 2016

Pakistan whitewashes West Indies in ODI series


ABU DHABI: Pakistan downed West Indies by 136 runs in the third and final one-day international in Abu Dhabi, registering a 3-0 whitewash on Wednesday.

West Indies while chasing a target of 309 runs collapsed for 172 runs after 44 overs. Muhammad Nawaz was the leading wicket-taker with 3 for 40 runs, while Wahab Riaz took two wickets.

Earlier, Babar Azam hit his third consecutive hundred while skipper Azhar Ali returned to form with a century as Pakistan punished West Indies in the third day-night international in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

Azam became just the seventh batsman in one-day cricket to smash hundreds in three consecutive matches with a superb 106-ball 117 to lead Pakistan to 308-6 after Ali won the toss and decided to bat on a flat Sheikh Zayed Stadium pitch.

Azam was finally bowled by Kieron Pollard in the 46th over after hitting eight boundaries and a six in another dominating exhibition of batting.

Ali, who failed in the first two games with a first-ball duck and nine, scored a 109-ball 101 with eight boundaries and a six.


He and fellow opener Sharjeel Khan (38) put Pakistan — leading the three-match series 2-0 — on track for a big total and a whitewash with a solid 85-run start in 14.1 overs as West Indies’ new-ball attack struggled.

Left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn provided West Indies with the first breakthrough, in his second over, when Sharjeel holed out at long-on after hitting five boundaries off 41 balls.

Ali and Azam added 147 for the second wicket to frustrate the West Indian bowling before Ali was bowled by Jason Holder in the 39th over.


Sarfraz Ahmed made 24 not out as Pakistan managed 96 runs in the last 15 overs.

Fast-rising star Azam is only the third batsmen from Pakistan and seventh in the world to notch three hundreds in as many matches. Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara holds the record with four centuries in as many games.

Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbass and Saeed Anwar, South Africa’s Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers and Quinton de Kock, and New Zealand’s Ross Taylor are others to achieve the milestone.



Azhar Ali b Holder                   101
Sharjeel Khan c Joseph b Benn         38
Babar Azam b Pollard                 117
Shoaib Malik c Ramdin b Narine         5
Sarfraz Ahmed not out                 24
Mohammad Rizwan lbw b Joseph           4
Imad Wasim c Bravo b Joseph            4
Mohammad Nawaz not out                 4

Extras: (lb7, nb1, w3)                11
Total: (for six wkts; 50 overs)      308

Did not bat: Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Sohail Khan

Fall of wickets: 1-85 (Sharjeel), 2-232 (Ali), 3-239 (Malik), 4-280 (Azam), 5-285 (Rizwan), 6-303 (Wasim)

Bowling: Joseph 8-0-62-2 (1w), Gabriel 5-0-37-0 (1nb), Brathwaite 4-0-22-0, Holder 10-0-63-1 (2w), Narine 10-0-47-1, Benn 10-0-51-1, Pollard 3-0-19-1

West Indies: J. Holder S. Benn, E. Lewis, K. Brathwaite, D. Bravo, A. Joseph, S. Gabriel, S. Narine, K. Pollard, D. Ramdin, M. Samuels

Toss: Pakistan

Courtesy: ARY

About the Author

Syed Ammar Alavi

- is Lahore (Pakistan) based journalist & writer with 25-year experience in print, wire and broadcast forms of journalism. His major fields of interest are politics, film,tv,sports, climate change and technology

Pin It