Published On: Mon, Aug 3rd, 2015

Attacking mindset help Pak win all three series, says Waqar



COLOMBO: Pakistan’s head coach Waqar Younis said that the attacking mindset of his players helped Greenshirts defeat Sri-Lanka in all three formats of the game at their home soil.

In the whole tour of Sri-Lanka, Pakistan’s most memorable victory will be their last. The sensational win of the second Twenty20 match of the series, when the Greenshirts were chasing 172 and were 40/5. The unpredictable team green almost back from the dead thanks to skipper Shahid Afridi, all-rounder Anwar Ali and Immad Wasim.

Pakistan also made a new record for the first time in the history of cricket, winning all three series by hitting a six. Captain Misbah-ul-Haq struck the winning six to win the Test series 2-1, all-rounder Shoaib Malik hit the winning six to win the ODI series 3-2 and Immad scored the winning six in the last over to clean sweep Islanders in the T20 series.


Pakistan’s former fast bowler Waqar said that he is proud of his team and according to him the team is back on track, talking about the Test series coach said that from the last year Greenshirts are playing good Test cricket. We are now third in the Test World Rankings, he specially praised Pakistan’s man in crisis Younis Khan, opening batsman Shan Masood and leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

Talking about the one-day series, Waqar said that the inclusion of the young blood helped Pakistan to improve their fielding standards. He said that in the ODI series Azhar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan and Anwar Ali were outstanding, Greenshirts has now jumped to eighth spot from ninth and qualified for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Meanwhile, coming to the T20 series Waqar said that we won the 1st T20 by 29 runs comfortably. For winning the 2nd T20 credit goes to Afridi for his 45 runs on 22 balls and then Anwar Ali’s 46 on 17 balls and Immad Wasim’s unbeaten 24* runs. It was a match full of all twist and turns in front of record breaking crowd of 35,000 spectators including the Sri-Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena at Premadasa Stadium.


About the Author

Pin It