Published On: Thu, Apr 14th, 2016

Pakistan Cup 2016 set to start from 19 April


Pakistan Cup 2016 team

Pakistan Cup 2016 will characterize Pakistan’s top 75 cricketers when the tournament starts from 19 April in Faisalabad.

This tournament would be Pakistan’s major domestic one-day event, which will have the format of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) and characterize five teams such as Balochistan, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P), Sindh, Punjab and Federal Capital.

Balochistan team will be directed by Pakistan ODI skipper Azhar Ali, whereas experienced batsman Younus Khan will direct K-P. Punjab’s captain will be Shoaib Malik while newly-instated T20 skipper Sarfraz Ahmed and Test Captain Misbahul Haq will direct Sindh and Federal Capital in that order.

The five captains and trainers selected their teams by a summary procedure that happened at a neighboring hotel in Lahore yesterday. The captain had to select their team from a collection of 150 players and to make the tournament equally impartial, every team was needed to select as a minimum one U19 player.

Misbah, who chosen numerous players who had worked under him in the PSL, was extremely admiring of the drafting procedure as it permitted choice of a proportionate team.

Misbah told that “The introduction of the player’s draft is a good thing because it allows captains and coaches to select the best possible team,” he further added, “We tried to select those who have been performing well in different tournaments and now it’s a good opportunity for them to impress. I tried selecting players who played under me in Islamabad United because I know how to utilize them and am comfortable with them as well.”

At the same time Sarfraz was verbal of the drafting procedure because in his view, it doesn’t permit the captain to test diverse tactics.

His works were as, “Draft is a bit difficult because strategies continue to change with every pick,” he added, “But it’s a good thing as captains and coaches can select best possible teams. I’m happy that we were able to select the targets we had in mind.”


Federal Capital: Misbahul Haq (C), Sharjeel Khan, Nasir Jamshed, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Zakir, Hammad Azam, Sarmad Bhatti, Kamran Akmal, Imran Khalid, Zafar Gohar, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Irfan, Hassan Ali, Mohammad Abbas and U19 player Arsal Sheikh.

Sindh: Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Khurram Mansoor, Sami Aslam, Mohammad Waqas, Shoaib Maqsood, Khalid Latif, Fawad Alam, Saad Ali, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Amir, Sohail Khan, Rumman Raees and U19 player Hassan Khan.

Punjab: Shoaib Malik (C), Mohammad Rizwan, Salman Butt, Shan Masood, Asad Shafiq, Asif Ali, Akbarur Rehman, Amir Yamin, Saad Nasim, Kashif Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Ammad Butt, Adnan Ghaus, Zulfiqar Babar and U19 player Saif Babar.

Balochistan: Azhar Ali (C), Owais Raza, Ramiz Raja Jr, Babar Azam, Umar Akmal, Shahid Yousaf, Mohammad Hassan, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Tanveer, Junaid Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Umar Gul, Osama Mir, Saeed Ajmal and U19 player Imran Khan Jr.

K-P: Youns Khan (C), Ahmad Shahzad, Fakhar Zaman, Rameez Aziz, Naveed Yasin, Musadiq Ahmed, Bismillah Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Rahat Ali, Azizullah, Sadaf Mehdi, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Zohaib Khan and U19 player Hayatullah.


About the Author

Sidra Muntaha

- Sidra Tul Muntaha is a journalist (MA-Mass Communication and M.Phil in Mass Communication) based in Lahore. She is working as an editor at fashion, style and entertainment in the section of the Kooza. She writes fashion and entertainment articles for The Kooza News.

Pin It