Published On: Thu, May 5th, 2016

Pakistan has to struggle a lot


Previous World Cup victors Pakistan have forced to an unprecedented low figure nine in the recent International Cricket Council (ICC) positions for ODIs.

The team positions were provided the annual information yesterday; according to which taking the 1992 champions down to number nine later than a mainly sterile 2015-16 run in the 50-overs format.

In turn to make sure direct contribution in the 2019 edition of the leading ODI tournament, Pakistan would require ceasing amid the apex eight teams at the final date, 30 September 2017, for the occasion.

An ICC press release stated that hosts England and the subsequently seven highest-ranked sides will meet the criteria straightforwardly for cricket’s major occasion, whereas the underneath four ODI ranked sides will unite with the apex sides from the 2015-17 ICC World Cricket League in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 to battle for the left over two spots.

Pakistan would require illustrating important development in the set-up if they want to shun the humiliation of seeing in the qualifiers.

The Pakistani team merely ensured their membership in subsequently year’s ICC Champions Trophy later than binding Sri Lanka 3-2 in a five-match series organized previous year, getting only almost sufficient points to verify their moor at the rate of the West Indies.

Pursuing the annual information, consequences from 2012-13 have been fell, whereas consequences from 2014-15 have been lessened to a weighting of 50%.

World champions Australia are positioned as the apex ODI team in the world, pursued by the finalists of the 2015 edition, New Zealand.

Seventh in ICC T20I rankings

The condition is just a little good for Pakistan in the T20I format. Later than a series of bad consequences concluding in the opening depart from the ICC World T20 last March, the 2009 World T20 champions have gone down to the seventh position from the third rank they organized when the final rankings were previously updated.

New Zealand, who is the semi-finalists of this year’s premier T20I occasion, have squall up the plan to assert the first place for the initial time, whereas 2007 World T20 champions India is in the second position.

West Indies, who is the present world champions in the immediate format, is in the third position for the best team.

About the Author

Sidra Muntaha

- Sidra Tul Muntaha is a journalist (MA-Mass Communication and M.Phil in Mass Communication) based in Lahore. She is working as an editor at fashion, style and entertainment in the section of the Kooza. She writes fashion and entertainment articles for The Kooza News.

Pin It