Published On: Sat, Oct 8th, 2016

PSL 2017: Chris Gayle, Sohail Tanvir traded by Karachi, Lahore



Sohail Tanvir and Chris Gayle have both been traded, with Tanvir joining Lahore Qalandars and Gayle getting picked up by Karachi Kings in turn, Pakistan Super League said.

Also Kumar Sangakkara has joined the Kings and might be involved in a player-coach sort of a role with the side.

As the fans anxiously look forward to the next season, it will be exciting to see which players find themselves switching sides in the coming weeks. Watch this space for more updates on this front. Just like the first season,

A total of 5 teams will participate in the second edition of the tournament fighting for supremacy.

Each team will have 16 players to pick its 11 from. This will include the allowed quota of 5 international players. Since there will just be 20 round robin matches and 4 playoffs; players are expected to retain their fitness in the main and justify the money poured on them.

Year 2016 has been a terrific year for cricket fans in Pakistan as the country saw its very own international cricket league introduced to the world. Dubbed as ‘Pakistan Super League’, the tournament was conducted in the month of February in the United Arab Emirates.

Five franchises representing the major cities of Karachi, Peshawar, Islamabad, Quetta and Lahore came together with a well packed squad to compete for the maiden PSL trophy.

The tournament boasted of many international T20 players like Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, who represented Lahore Qalandars, along with the likes of Dwayne Smith, Andre Russell, Shane Watson, New Zealand seamer Grant Eliott and the Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan.

However, the local talent too made their contribution brilliantly, as Umar Akmal and Sharjeel Khan were two of the leading run-scorers, while Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Sami were in the group of leading wicket takers. Interestingly, the management has now taken a decision to remove Azhar Ali from the captaincy and could install Brendon McCullum as their skipper for the second season of PSL.

It was Islamabad United who won the tournament, despite finishing at the third place in the league table. Other teams like Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars had a disappointing debut as they won just two in the eight matches they played.

Courtesy: STV

About the Author

Syed Ammar Alavi

- is Lahore (Pakistan) based journalist & writer with 25-year experience in print, wire and broadcast forms of journalism. His major fields of interest are politics, film,tv,sports, climate change and technology

Pin It