Published On: Thu, Aug 27th, 2015

Today is the 18th death anniversary of Hindi Cinema’s well-known film director Basu Bhattacharya.



Basu Bhattacharya was a prominent Hindi film director, most famous for his 1966 film Teesri Kasam, starring Raj Kapoor and Waheeda Rehman, which won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film in 1967. He also produced Sparsh in 1985 starring Shabana Azmi and Naseeruddin Shah, which won the Filmfare Best Movie Award.

In his seventies trilogy Anubhav, Avishkar and Griha Pravesh, Basu Bhattacharya probed the man-woman relationship with his three films.

Directed by Basu Bhattacharya, Anubhav’ is a 1971 Hindi film, which stars Sanjeev Kumar, Tanuja and Dinesh Thakur in lead roles. The film was the first part of Basu Battacharya’s introspective trilogy on marital discord in an urban setting, which included Avishkaar (1973) and Griha Pravesh (1979); and went on to win the 1972 National Film Award for Second Best Feature Film and started a trend later picked even by the mainstream cinema.

The film also remembered for playback singer Geeta Dutt’s finest songs written by Gulzar and composed by music director Kanu Roy, like “Meri Jaan Mujhe Jaan Na Kaho”, “Koi Chupke Se Aake” and “Mera Dil Jo Mera Hota”.The film has another memorable track “Phir Kahin Koi Phool Khila, Chahat Na Kaho Usko” sung by Manna Dey.


About the Author

Syed Ammar Alavi

- is Lahore (Pakistan) based journalist & writer with 25-year experience in print, wire and broadcast forms of journalism. His major fields of interest are politics, film,tv,sports, climate change and technology

Pin It