WhatsApp removes option for sharing information with Facebook406 views
WhatsApp has removed the option where you could opt out of their new info-sharing policy.
WhatsApp had earlier announced a 30-day period where users can opt out of the new WhatsApp-Facebook data sharing policy. The date has passed and WhatsApp has now removed the option where you could control your information being shared. The new policy was announced on August 25 and the last date to opt out was on September 25.
Since WhatsApp announced the new policy terms that they will share all WhatsApp users’ data and information with its parent company, netizens and WhatsApp users took the service provider to court with regards to privacy issues. In the interest of a user’s privacy here in India, the Delhi High Court slammed WhatsApp, directing them not to make use of any data of any user stored before September 25. WhatsApp said that they support the decision and users can oblige and are free to not use the service if they find the new ToS a threat to their privacy.
Between August 25 and September 25, WhatsApp had placed an option in the Settings —> Accounts page on WhatsApp’s apps where users could opt out of the new policy if they were not comfortable sharing their data with Facebook. The option is removed and WhastApp users will now have no choice but to allow sharing their data with Facebook and its group of companies, or refrain away from using the service.
The option for opting out was given to users for a period of 30 days and now, by installing and using WhatsApp, you, by default, agree and give full permission to share your information with Facebook and its family of companies.
In short, if you are using WhatsApp, you should know that all your information that you share on the service will be served to Facebook Inc and its companies.
What will Facebook Inc do with your data?
Since your data is being shared with FB and its companies, you should definitely know where all your data is being shared with and what they are doing with your shared information.
A list of the Facebook companies where your data will be shared and used include Facebook Payments, Inc., Atlas, Instagram LLC, Onavo, Parse, Moves, Oculus, LiveRail, WhatsApp Inc. And Masquerade.
What information is being shared with FB and other companies?
Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of the Facebook family of apps for others to see. This means, for example, although some information will be shared with Facebook (such as your phone number), that information will not be seen by other people on Facebook. In addition, when you and your contacts use the latest version of our app, your messages are end-to-end encrypted by default. When your messages are end-to-end encrypted, only the people you are messaging with can read them – not WhatsApp, Facebook, or anyone else.
(Excerpts from the WhatsApp blog)
Why is your information being shared with Facebook and the Facebook family of companies?
WhatsApp being a part of the Facebook family of companies, sharing some information allows them, to coordinate more and improve experiences across their services and those of Facebook and the Facebook family.
For example, WhatsApp will be able to more accurately count unique users. They can better fight spam and abuse. If you are a Facebook user, you might see better friend suggestions and more relevant ads on Facebook.
(Excerpts from the WhatsApp blog)
For more information about WhatsApp’s new Terms of Service, click here.