Published On: Mon, Mar 14th, 2016

World Twenty20 past champions


NEW DELHI: The five past winners of the World Twenty20, which is being held in India.

2014 – SRI LANKA

Sri Lanka defeated India by six wickets to lift the 2014 title in Mirpur, Bangladesh. The victory atoned for their defeat in previous two finals and provide the perfect T20 international farewell for Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.


West Indies stunned Australia in the semi-finals and then broke the hearts of Sri Lanka in a low-scoring final. Despite scoring only a modest 137, the Windies restricted the hosts to 101 in reply before Chris Gayle led his team-mates in a celebratory ‘Gangnam Style’ dance.

2010 – ENGLAND

Player of the tournament Kevin Pietersen inspired England to their first ICC trophy in perfect fashion, defeating arch-rivals Australia in the West Indies.


A Younis Khan-led Pakistan blew Sri Lanka away in a one-sided final at Lord’s to secure their second ICC world title.

2007 – INDIA

India won a thrilling inaugural final against Pakistan by five runs when Misbah-ul-Haq failed to make the runs needed in the final over, inspiring their previously sceptical fan-base to embrace the T20 format.


About the Author

Syed Ammar Alavi

- is Lahore (Pakistan) based journalist & writer with 25-year experience in print, wire and broadcast forms of journalism. His major fields of interest are politics, film,tv,sports, climate change and technology